Playing in Cloudland…A Small World Storybook Sensory Adventure!

Love

Small Potatoes

titlecollage “A matter-of-fact tone and economy of words, in combination with whimsical illustrations, create a buoyant, high-flying fantasy greater than the sum of its parts. Winsomely sure-footed.”  ~KIRKUS REVIEW, Cloudland by John Burmingham

I will admit that when I chose this book on our last library trip, I did so because of the illustrations. My imagination went crazy as I thought of the ways in which we could play with this storybook theme.

I did not read the book before I brought it home.

Admittedly, I was quite shocked in the beginning, to find the little boy Albert falling from a cliff while out hiking in the mountains with his parents. He is saved by the cloud children who utter magical incantations to keep him afloat in Cloudland.

Once the initial shock wears off, one finds a delightful story of play, magic, and adventures we all could only dream of as…

View original post 442 more words

Leave a Reply

